Advisory Board

The Emily Taylor Center staff works in conjunction with the Center's Advisory Board. The Center could not carry out its important mission without the assistance and support of our devoted Advisory Board members. Below is a listing of this year's Advisory Board members. Many of the women that serve on the Board have been honored by the Center either as Hall of Fame members or Women of Distinction. To learn more about those that have been honored simply click on the woman's name.

Board Officers

Advisory Board President
President/CEO, Niles Home for Children, Inc.
Advisory Board Vice President
CEO, U Chic Media
Paige Geiger
Advisory Board Secretary
Associate Professor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology - University of Kansas Medical Center

Appointed Members

David J. Brown
Managing Attorney, The Law Office of David J. Brown
Diana Carlin
Ret. Associate Vice President for Graduate Education & International Initiatives, Saint Louis University
Cathy Daicoff
Ret. Managing Director, Standard & Poors 
Gloria Farha Flentje
Retired Senior Vice President, Spirit AeroSystems, Inc. 
Jennifer Hamer
Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Kansas
Chelsi Hayden
Clinical Associate Professor of Law, KU
The Honorable Karen Humphreys
Ret. U.S. Magistrate Judge 
Colette Kocour
Futures Unlimited Inc.
Audrey Langworthy
Former Kansas State Senator
Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard
​Ph.D. Candidate, Microbiology, KU School of Medicine; Commissioner, Kansas City Health Commission 
Susana Mariscal
Shannon Portillo
​Assistant Professor, KU Public Affairs & Administration
Jessica St. Clair-Stong
​Community Volunteer
Kelly Sartorius
Director of Development, Washington University in St. Louis Arts and Sciences
Jean Shepherd
Ret. District Judge, Douglas County
Michael Wade Smith
Executive Director of Marketing and Advancement, Office of the Provost

Special Consulting Members

Barbara Ballard
Associate Director for Civic Outreach
Dole Institute of Politics
Ann Schofield
Chair of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Emily Gullickson
Program Coordinator, Office of Multicultural Affairs
Kathy Rose-Mockry
Director, Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity

Honorary Members

Beverly Smith Billings
Joanne Collins
Ann Eversole
Ann Gardner
Ellen Hanson
Nancy Hiebert (Founding Member)
Joan Hunt
Nancy Lane
Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett
Genevieve McMahon
Elizabeth Schultz
Kala Stroup
Mary Turkington (Founding Member) 

Student Representatives

Stephonn Alcorn, Student Body President
Carla Rivas-D'Amico, President, Commission on the Status of Women/ SURGE
Lieschele Downs, President, Natl. Pan-Hellenic Council
Alle Flamme, Director of Risk Management, Panhellenic Representative


Did You Know..
  • Only 23% of all Distinguished Professors at KU are women, compared to 24% three years ago
  • Of the 165 members of the Kansas legislature, only 40 are women
  • Only 3 of the 14 Kansas Court of Appeals Judges are women
  • 31% of Kansas families with a single-female head of household live below the poverty level
  • Median earnings in Kansas for women are just 77% of what median earnings are for men

Concerned by what you now know? Get involved today!

Calendar of Events
"7 Ways I Take Care of Myself During Depressive Episodes" #MentalHealthAwarenessMonth

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times